The award ceremony in Tampere

Federal Chancellor Angela Merkel of Germany, first-ever recipient of the International Gender Equality Prize, was honoured at an award ceremony on 6 March 2018 in Tampere.

The cause chosen by Chancellor Merkel to be granted the EUR 150,000 prize, SOS Femmes et Enfants Victimes de Violance Familiale from Niger, was announced during the event.

Prime Minister Juha Sipilä and Anna-Kaisa Ikonen, Chair of the Tampere City Council, hosted the award ceremony.

An international expert panel on violence against women was held in connection with the event. The panel discussion was opened by Minister of Family Affairs and Social Services Annika Saarikko. The members of the panel were Jeannette Bougrab, Director of Institut français de Finlande; Katja Iversen, President/CEO of Women Deliver; Dean Peacock, Co-Executive Director of Sonke Gender Justice; and Katja Pehrman, Senior Adviser at UN Women.

A recording of the ceremony is available here